Skip to content

Musa Memorial Day Blog Hop–ONE WET SUMMER excerpt with $10 Amazon Gift Card Give-Away

May 24, 2012

Visit the Musa Blog Hop

MUSA BLOG HOP!
http://musapublishingbloghops.blogspot.com/2012/05/musa-memorial-day-blog-hop.html

Celebrate the start of summer with my newest contemporary romance ONE WET SUMMER. Available from Musa Publishing May 25, 2012…

Questioning her life plans and risking her heart to the hotelier and his motherless daughter weren’t on the vacationing teacher’s to do list—funny how things can change in a heartbeat.

Maura Fields loves her uncomplicated, independent, single life, but things quickly change when a summer vacation opens the door to an unexpected world of passion and desire. Wealthy Savannah hotelier Ben Driscoll had his playboy lifestyle upended when his ex-wife died, entrusting him to care for their daughter—a child he sequesters and vows to protect from future heartache and disappointment. Can the wall Ben has built around his heart withstand the assault from the intriguing, beguiling Maura, or will it crumble, leaving him vulnerable to the undeniable attraction and unbridled need to make her his own?

EXCERPT–

“You better take your shirt off, too.” He set down his glass, and she helped him remove his saturated coat. “Oh, you have wine all over your back. Ben, I’ve ruined your beautiful suit.”

“No big deal. I was getting hot anyway.” He smiled wickedly. “If I can use your sink, I’ll wash it off and head back to my apartment. I have rooms right here at the hotel. I’m sure no one will notice a half-naked man roaming the halls, and if they do, too bad. I own the place, you know.”

They both laughed. Maura delighted in his easy going temperament, how he made her feel whatever she did, he’d like. She was sorry to see their date end this way, but accidents happen, and this one might have very well saved her from further impetuosity.

“You know where the bathroom is. Help yourself.”

He laid his suit coat on the table and started unbuttoning his shirt. Maura turned away, all of a sudden feeling bashful. How silly, she thought. I have already seen his chest. But that had been at the pool with loads of other people around. Now, they were all alone in her hotel room, only a few feet away from a suddenly imposing bed. He must have recognized her gesture. “I’ll take care of this in your bathroom. Excuse me, please.” He thoughtfully shut the door so she couldn’t be caught watching him.

She sunk onto the bed and shook her head self-derisively. “Way to wreck the mood,” she told herself and lay back to stare at the ceiling.

When his phone started beeping from his suit coat pocket, she ran to the table and hastily retrieved it, fearful the expensive phone might be damaged by the spilled wine. She wiped it with a tissue from the ornate box on the bedside table and sat down again on the white duvet. She must have hit the wrong button because a “new text message” alert flashed onto the touch-screen.

New message from Jessica.

Maura blinked hard once, twice, three times. Her stomach tightened apprehensively as she stared at the sender’s name. She wouldn’t read the message. She wasn’t a snoop. Jessica could be anyone, most probably a business associate or an employee, but before she could set the phone down on the bedside table, the message scrolled across the screen.

When will you be home? I can’t fall asleep without you.

Maura’s stomach clenched as did her fists. Tears stung her eyes, and she blinked hard, willing them away. Her jaw set, and she took a deep, ragged breath.

When Ben came out of the bathroom a minute later, his shirt was on, though it hung loose and open. It was damp and red in places as if he’d been in a fight and had tried to wash blood from it. When he saw the look on Maura’s face, his grin faltered then faded. “What’s wrong, Maura? I meant it when I said I don’t care about the suit. Please don’t be angry at yourself. We had such a great time tonight…”

He stopped mid-sentence, midway between the bathroom and Maura’s bed, perhaps perceiving something terrible had occurred. “Maura?”

She shot to her feet and thrust his phone out to him as if it were a poisonous snake.

If you want to see what happens next, you’ll have to buy the book.  :)

It’s only $4.99 at Musa Publishing.

Also, I am offering a $10 Amazon gift Card to one lucky commenter, so pretty please leave  a comment below.

And don’t forget, this is a HOP!!!! Click the Logo to get back to the Hop list. Happy Memorial Day.

Visit the Musa Blog Hop

Discover more great authors and titles from Musa Publishing.

MUSA BLOG HOP!
http://musapublishingbloghops.blogspot.com/2012/05/musa-memorial-day-blog-hop.html

41 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 8:46 pm

    Wanted know what happens next and who Jessica is. Best to luck with book sales.

  2. May 25, 2012 6:56 am

    Thanks, Kendra! It’s super exciting to get another title out. I think One Wet Summer has a lot to offer readers: humor, romance, and high emotional stakes!

  3. May 25, 2012 11:17 am

    So excited for you. I downloaded One Wet Summer on my kindle. Can’t wait to read it.
    Congratulations on your release and much success with your book.

  4. May 25, 2012 4:14 pm

    Love the excerpt, Ann, and what a gorgeous cover!

    • May 25, 2012 9:23 pm

      Thanks, Helen.
      Kelly Shorten (Musa’s Cover Artist) really captured the essence of my book.
      When I saw the cover, I thought, “THERE’S Ben and Maura!”

  5. May 25, 2012 4:20 pm

    One Wet Summer sounds like a perfect beach read! I’ll be buying it! Have a blessed and happy memorial Day!

  6. May 25, 2012 10:36 pm

    I’m so proud of my Creative Writing teacher. I’m reading a book called “Bird by Bird” and it keeps reminding me of you and your work, like this excerpt! How you keep writing and reading for the PASSION and LOVE of doing so and not for financial gain or world-wide success (although those are always nice!) Good luck to you and thank you for being a huge inspiration to me. It is easy for me to say you’ve been one of, if not my top, favorite teacher – English and elsewhere! Best of luck!

    • May 25, 2012 11:00 pm

      Katie, Your support is so appreciated, and your talents need to be shared. Write, write, write: it is your destiny.

  7. May 26, 2012 9:17 am

    I love when the cover is exactly how you want it! Best wishes with this.

  8. May 26, 2012 9:27 am

    Congrats on the new release! Agree w/ CK… BEACH READ! Yum!

  9. May 26, 2012 9:42 am

    One Wet Summer sounds great! It’s definitely going in my TBR list.

  10. May 26, 2012 10:35 am

    One Wet Summer sounds great. I can’t wait to read it. Congratulations on your new release. Have a great weekend!

    • May 26, 2012 12:48 pm

      Thanks, Sara. I plan to grill some salmon and cut into a giant watermelon…after I write a few more blog posts. Work, work, work!

  11. May 26, 2012 1:14 pm

    One Wet Summer sounds like a great read. I will definitely have to check it out. :D Have a great weekend!

  12. May 26, 2012 4:07 pm

    Loved the excerpt for One Wet Summer! The last line was killer! I don’t normally read a lot of romance books, but your writing style really has a way to reel you in. :)

  13. May 26, 2012 5:11 pm

    Nice blog. Love your tag line; I’m a believer, too. Best wishes for a successful book. The cover, blurb, and excerpt are sure to help with that!

  14. May 26, 2012 5:55 pm

    One Wet Summer sounds like a great read! Congratulations on your new release!

  15. Denise Z permalink
    May 26, 2012 10:12 pm

    Thank you for participating in this fun hop. One Wet Summer looks like a fun read and I will be checking it out more. Congratulations on the release and I wish you every success :)
    dz59001[at]gmail[dot]com

  16. May 27, 2012 8:27 am

    Congrats on the release, Ann! Great blurb, excerpt and cover.

  17. May 27, 2012 3:26 pm

    Congrats on your release! The cover is so cute! I will have to buy this one to see what happens next. My summer reading is getting hotter!
    Mel
    bournmelissa at hotmail dot com

  18. Catherine Lee permalink
    May 27, 2012 9:51 pm

    Sounds like a great summer beach read! I don’t know if she should give up that uncomplicated, independent single life…LOL.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  19. May 28, 2012 12:35 pm

    Well, so far my summer is turning out to be hot and very dry, so I could use something refreshing and wet to cool it off a bit. Congratulations and best wishes for a successful run on this one.
    vidamaemaynard at gmail dot com

    • May 28, 2012 1:23 pm

      Thanks, Cordelia. I think cool lemonade and a romantic story are remedies to beat the heat!

  20. Tina B permalink
    May 28, 2012 1:07 pm

    What an intriguing excerpt. I think I know what happens next. ;) I will be adding it to my TBR.
    I have plans to take a vacation with just me and the hubby to the Bahamas or Costa Rico. I am VERY excited! I will also be spending lots of time with my kids. :)
    Thank you for the wonderful giveaway.
    trb0917 at gmail.com

    • May 28, 2012 1:24 pm

      Wishing you a terrific summer with lots of time for reading great books! Thanks, Tina.

  21. June 1, 2012 7:10 am

    Reading the first chapter and this excerpt got me, Ann…just went and purchased my first romance novel since teens (and this is much better written)….good luck with it! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,529 other followers

