Skip to content

Missing my Soap

March 8, 2012

When All My Children went off the air, I felt sadness akin to grief. Having watched the show for forty years, I had a serious habit that was broken September 23, 2011. I cried, of course, but I’ve also lived long enough to understand that all things end. And then something new begins.

For me, the something new was writing and publishing novels. In fact, the very day AMC went off the air, I received my cover art for my very first romance novel,  The Billionaire’s Bauble. I also spent that day drafting the outline for  my second romance novel, One Wet Summer (to be released this May by Musa Publishing). I was prepared for the end of my show (even though there had been rumors it would resurface on the internet or cable TV–all untrue). I had BIG PLANS…

Fast forward to last night. I happened to be flipping the channels, and came across Watch What Happens Live on Bravo.

I thought I heard harp music.

There sat Mark Consuelos– my Mateo Santos from AMC– and his swarthy good looks and killer smile brought a wave of nostalgia that made me tear up. Gosh, it felt like running into an old friend in the bread aisle. “It’s Hayley’s husband!” I screeched to my dog. Then I took a “guzzlet” of my milk. (I love Andy Cohen’s drinking game!)

I was riveted for the entire half hour, unable to rip my eyes from the screen Mark Consuelos so beatifically alighted.

It’s nothing new for this die-hard soap fan.  Anytime an AMC star graces my screen, I stay put…

I’ve already tried ProActiv facial products, thanks to Annie and Amanda.

I’ve removed hair with No-No due to KWAK’s skillful advertising.

I’ve even bought LightSlim wrinkle cream because Greenlee said it worked. (Who knew our little pea was so close to forty?)

I find that any time one of my soap stars is on screen I pay avid attention. It feels familiar; it feels right.

A love lost is time gained, they say, and in my case, money spent. But I’d give anything to get that hour back with my favorite daytime drama. I miss my stories.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2012 8:26 am

    Ann,

    I didn’t watch it but my mother did, and every time I see the title of that soap, I think of her. So, I’m leaving this comment in her memory :)

    Thanks,

    Darcy

  2. March 8, 2012 9:54 am

    Everything lives forever on Youtube!

  3. March 8, 2012 9:56 am

    Thoughtful post Ann, I used to watch DOOLs, and when I got a forst shift position I was devastated!Ive since learned that evening shows can also provide great escapes from everyday stresses :) congrats on your releases!

    • March 8, 2012 11:21 am

      I remember thinking MY soap will never go off air. Boy, how wrong I was. I watch Survivor and American Idol with my son, but other than those evening programs, I pretty much keep it on PBS, Bravo, or the Food Channel. LOL.

  4. March 8, 2012 2:42 pm

    My addiction was the Young and the Restless but had to give that up when my work hours changed. Now I’m addicted to the drama channel unless the figure skating is on.
    Kendra/Bev

  5. March 31, 2012 4:34 pm

    I’m extremely inspired along with your writing talents and also with the format on your weblog. Is that this a paid theme or did you customize it your self? Either way keep up the nice high quality writing, it’s rare to see a nice weblog like this one these days..

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,527 other followers

