Skip to content

Guest Author Susan C. Muller “The Secrets On Forest Bend”

February 18, 2012

Today, we welcome Susan C. Muller, author of paranormal/suspense/thriller romance novel (yes, really!) The Secrets On Forest Bend.

Susan, tell us a bit about yourself.

I’m a native Texan, complete with Southern drawl, and live in Spring, a suburb of Houston. I’m a mother, grandmother, and long time hospital volunteer.  I enjoy traveling and have been to every continent except Antarctica. I also like to snorkel, swim, and take walks. I love to read and will never be found without a book nearby. I used to keep two books close by, just in case I finished one, but with the invention of the Kindle I’m always well stocked. Now I only have to worry about forgetting to charge my Kindle.

Good for you.  It sounds like you live a very interesting life.  I’m especially intrigued by your world traveler status. With so much experience, you must have many sources of inspiration. Who do you read for insight and motivation? Who are your influences?

I read anything I can get my hands on. I love Janet Evanovich, John Sandford, Lee Child, Bernard Cornwell, Jodi Picoult, and Donald E. Westlake.

Eclectic tastes.  Excellent.  I’m the same way. 

What’s The Secrets On Forest Bend about?

The Secrets on Forest Bend is a paranormal romantic suspense. Detective Adam Campbell is chasing a serial killer when he stumbles across a crooked cop, an intriguing woman, and a vengeful ghost. Can he stay alive long enough to catch the cop, win the woman, and destroy the ghost?

Here’s the blurb from Soul Mate Publishing:

Another day. . . another dead body.

When Detective Adam Campbell learns that a WWII gun is connected to several murders he’s investigating, he hopes that tracking down the killer will be as easy as tracing the gun’s history. When he meets Jillian Whitmeyer, the last known owner of the weapon, the case becomes anything but simple.

Just because you can’t see it, doesn’t mean it isn’t real.

Adam soon learns that people who get close to Jillian have a bad habit of turning up dead. Jillian claims that the spirit of her sister, accidentally killed with that same gun, is responsible for the deaths. She warns Adam that he is likely to become the next victim. Adam’s been a lousy judge of women in the past, and this one’s obviously a nut case. Or is she? How does a just-the-facts detective deal with a ghostly serial killer and the sexy-as-hell sister she won’t set free?

Where can we buy your book?

It is available from Soul Mate Publishing, Amazon, and Barnes & Noble.

Can you share with us a bit about your road to publication?

The Secrets on Forest Bend is my second novel.  My first will never see the light of day but was a good learning experience. The classes I’ve taken through RWA (Romance Writers of America) and the contests I entered also helped me work on my craft.  In addition to my novel, I have a novella, Redeeming Santa, inspired by Texas’ most notorious bank robbery.

Redeeming Santa is available at Amazon, too. The blurb reads–

December 23, 1927. When a man disguised as Santa robs the local savings and loan, he takes eight-year-old Wilber Jenkins as a hostage. Frozen and starving, Wilber needs all of his wiles to stay alive. He escapes after three days on the run, but eighty-seven years later, can he overcome his hatred of all things Christmas for the sake of his family?

That story sounds like a lot of fun as well.  Intriguing that it’s based on an historical event. Given your success with your two available titles, what are your writing goals?  Any new projects? 

My goal is to be a multi-published author with books on the New York Times bestseller list. If you’re going to have a dream, it might as well be a big one.

I agree wholeheartedly, Susan!

Until then, I’m working on the first book of a four-part series. It is straight mystery/suspense without the paranormal element.

Terrific news.  I look forward to reading your next novel.

Thank you so much for visiting my blog, Susan.  I wish you success and joy as you travel and write and live your exciting life.

You can follow Susan by visiting her website: http://susancmuller.com/

Until next time, be well, readers and writers!

xo,

–Ann Montclair

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 18, 2012 8:13 am

    Hi Susan & Ann (she waves): Great interview, ladies. I love the sound of Redeeming Santa. Very intriguing. Best of luck with all your projects. Hmm. Sounds like your ‘big dream’ is the same as mine. See ya at the top!

    • February 18, 2012 10:04 am

      Hi Calli. (waving back) There’s room at the top for both of us. See you there.

  2. February 18, 2012 9:28 am

    Great interview Ann and Susan! Wishing both of you success with your books and future projects.

    Susan, with two books under your belt, the only way is up! Here is wishing you make it to the top and live your dreams.

  3. February 18, 2012 10:47 am

    Great interview, ladies!

    I wholeheartedly agree: with two books under your belt, you’re on your way to the top. You’ve already surpassed the one hit wonder status!

    Hopefully, I’ll get to join you guys at the top. :)

  4. February 18, 2012 11:12 am

    Hi Susan and Ann,

    First, great interview! I’ve read both of Susan’s books and the stories grabbed from the start and I couldn’t put them down. I was reading REDEEMING SANTA on a plane and was very hard on me when they made me turn off my Kindle to land. Couldn’t wait to get off the plane and start reading again. Same thing goes for SECRETS ON FOREST BEND, but we were on vacation staying in a hotel so could read to my hearts content…right through to the end. Gripping story, memorable characters. Awesome!

    Susan, you’re a whiz at condensing your story. Good job!

  5. February 18, 2012 11:45 am

    Susan, the book sounds fabulous! Congratulations on the release. I love how you can bring WWII history into a modern paranormal setting.

  6. Beppie Harrison permalink
    February 18, 2012 11:49 am

    Redeeming Santa is the one that catches my imagination — maybe I haven’t let Christmas slip away entirely yet!

    Great interview –

    • February 18, 2012 4:23 pm

      Beppie, that story was told to me in 1964 by someone who was there when it happened. I’ve wanted to write about it ever since.

  7. Kate M. permalink
    February 18, 2012 12:52 pm

    Love the paranormal element with the gun owner claiming a ghost is responsible for the deaths. Lots of room for conflict there

  8. February 18, 2012 1:21 pm

    Thanks for the excellent interview! REDEEMING SANTA sounds like a must read and I’m off to go search for it for my Kindle. Good luck with SECRETS and I hope your dreams come true.

  9. February 18, 2012 1:28 pm

    Can’t wait to read it! What a great concept.

  10. Tess permalink
    February 18, 2012 2:57 pm

    What a great interview! I’m a huge of Susan’s…love her books.

  11. February 18, 2012 5:07 pm

    What a fun interview. I love the tidbits about Redeeming Santa! Good luck with both stories.

    Lynn

  12. February 18, 2012 7:27 pm

    Ann, thanks for hosting me. It was fun. And thanks for stopping by everyone.

  13. February 18, 2012 7:29 pm

    Thank you, Susan, and to all who commented as well. :)

  14. February 18, 2012 8:27 pm

    Great except! Definitely on my Tbr list.

  15. February 19, 2012 6:24 pm

    Hi Ann and Susan!

    I’m late to the party, but I’m a fan of Susan Muller’s and just wanted to add that The Secrets on Forest Bend is indeed a can’t miss mystery/suspense. I could not put it down.
    Glad to learn a little more about you, Susan.

    ~J.D. Faver

  16. February 20, 2012 3:48 am

    Just love the cover for The Secrets on Forest Bend. Very mysterious, much like the title. A wonderful interview. Wishing you much success with your writing career, Susan.

    Ann, as usual, lovely interview. :-)

  17. February 20, 2012 1:41 pm

    Thanks ladies. I appreciate the support.

  18. February 22, 2012 1:34 am

    Great job, ladies!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,528 other followers

