Skip to content

Galleys to Edit and Readers to Thank

December 12, 2011

I am in the process of editing my galleys for my debut novel The Billionaire’s Bauble. At first, I felt thrilled my editor had so few suggestions for revision: that means my novel is close to “correct” as it stands. Good for me!
But the more I read it, the more I wonder about word choices, flow, pacing, characterization… I adore the book, but as a writer, it’s hard to say “ready!” I tend to want to make sure each word is the best word, each phrase is the most evocative, each paragraph has the right emotional punch.
I am just a few days away from having to return the book to my editor as finished. Gulp. The novel will be done, ready to be read, a life, an entity in and of itself. And like I felt about my first child, I want it to be loved, honored, enjoyed, and respected.
I never expected to care so much. I never thought Sloane and David would become a part of my soul, but they have. As I set them free to live in the minds and hearts of my readers, the one thing that keeps coming to mind is I wish them a happy life.
Their happily ever after depends on my readers now. Thank you if you are someone who reads their story and loves them like I do. Sloane and David are lucky to have you, and I am, too.
xo, Ann

4 Comments leave one →
  1. December 12, 2011 3:48 am

    I know just how you feel. I questioned everything with my final galleys. Like, “Is that the word I want? Maybe he should be drinking gin instead of whiskey.”

    I think it’s hard to say, “This is done,” and move on. I felt like I was saying good-bye when I sent of my final galleys. It killed me. I still feel nervous about it.

    Good luck with The Billionaire’s Bauble, and congrats on your release. You deserve this!

    • December 12, 2011 4:39 am

      Thanks for the positive vibes! I appreciate every kind word, and I know you GET it!

      xo, Ann

  2. December 12, 2011 5:34 am

    Good luck to you, Ann! You must be soo excited. The Billionaire’s Bauble is going to be a hit. Cant you just tell? And I’ve always loved the cover art.
    Patti

  3. December 12, 2011 12:48 pm

    Thanks, Patricia! I love your enthusiasm!

    xo, Ann

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 3,528 other followers

